Last updated:

1st May 2024

How decisions are made and scrutinised


Wokingham Borough Council is made up of 54 councillors representing 25 wards across the Borough.

Our Constitution sets out how we operate, how decisions are made and the procedures which are followed.

Currently, there is not a single political party which holds majority control of the Council, the Council is therefore considered to have ‘no overall control’. The current political balance of our Council is:

  • Liberal Democrat - 26 Councillors
  • Conservative - 22 Councillors
  • Labour - 5
  • Independent - 1

The Leader of the Council is Councillor Stephen Conway. The Deputy Leader of the Council is Prue Bray.

Give website feedback